Faves on a Budget

Eating healthy is hard. Eating healthy while on a tight budget is even harder. Throughout this school year I’ve had to learn how to eat healthy on a budget. I live in an apartment-style dorm, so I do a lot of my own cooking. I’ve learned my favorite meals to eat that I can easily buy in bulk!

Brekky

1. Eggs

Eggs have to be an obvious choice. You can buy an entire case for around $5-6, and it’ll last you quite a while! I love to scramble them in the mornings and eat them with fresh fruit or turkey bacon!

2. Paleo/Blogilates Pancakes

These are fore those mornings when you’re not in a rush to get to class. It only takes 2 eggs and a banana to make these delicious pancakes! They’re oh-so yummy, and they’re great paired with syrup or jam!

3. Protein Shakes

This is definitely a little more expensive, but it lasts for the entire month (or two if you’re not using it every day). I like to just mix protein powder with almond or coconut milk and take it on the go. Sometimes I’ll blend it fully with some frozen fruit to add even more flavor.

4. Overnight Oats

I’m not the biggest fan of regular oatmeal, but overnight oats are so delicious! I use a recipe from Blogilates 28 day reset. It uses the protein powder, chia seeds, oats, almond milk, cinnamon, and sugar. All ingredients that seem to last forever! I love making these the night before (obviously) and grabbing them for on the go in the mornings!

 

Lunch

1. Turkey Burger

Whether you do homemade or store bought, turkey burgers are a great lunch. You can make them or buy them in bulk and freeze them! Pull the patty out the night before, and you’re good to go!

2. Cucumber Turkey Roll-Ups

I first tried these on the 28 day reset, and I loved them. Get deli turkey (you can get this in bulk and freeze it as well), cucumbers, and hummus! It’s more of a snack then a full lunch, but it’s still delicious! Just spread some hummus on the turkey and roll it up with a cucumber inside! For an added bonus pair it with some almonds or cashews!

3. Salads

Salads are an easy lunch. I love to put them in a mason jar and take it to work or class. You can even meal prep these after grocery shopping on Sunday! Just be sure to put the lettuce at the bottom and the dressing at the top or on the side!

 

Dinner

1. Chicken and Veggies

Possible the easiest dinner to make! Buy chicken breasts in bulk, separate them into single servings, and freeze. You can pull it out the night before or even the morning of. Then buy frozen veggies, fresh veggies, or canned veggies (check the labels for hidden ingredients like high fructose corn syrup). Cook the chicken up in whatever spice your heart desires and cook the veggies. Enjoy!

2. Burrito Bowls

Imagine a burrito without the shell! It’s so much healthier when you take that out of the equation. Meal prep rice, quinoa, or a mixture. Then heat that up as well as some black beans. Add in whatever else you’d like (guacamole, cheese, salsa, onions, peppers, etc.), mix it all together, and you’ve got yourself a filling and delicious dinner!

3. Stir-Fried “Rice”

Instead of making stir-fried rice, use cauliflower! You can buy frozen cauliflower and pull it out the night before or meal prep fresh cauliflower into rice the week you’re having it! Then cook it just as you would fried rice! Add in meat or beans, eggs, soy sauce, and whatever else you’d like!

 

I hope this has given you some new ideas on what to eat on that tight budget! I love all of these and tend to stick to them when I’m meal planning for the month! They’re all super easy mode and cheap! They’re also extremely healthy, so it’s a triple win for my busy, budget-driven life!

Let me know if you try any of these. Tag me on Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook!

Leave a Reply

